Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
*akka design*
Archives
10 juillet 2009

An old book

00_100

I love Eastern European music, so I was extremely happy when our friends from Antikvariat Mingus in Prague gave me this book. It's an old Czech book about Romanian folk songs, showing a selection of folk music scores with lyrics both in Czech and Romanian and illustrated with pictures of musicians and motifs from traditional embroidery.  There are a few chapters describing the different music styles and typical instruments. For who doesn't know I graduated in History of Music years ago and at that time Ethnomusicology was my favorite subject. I have never worked in anything related to my studies but I still love everything related to folk music.
00_103
00_105
00_107
libro_copy

This book came to my mind today after reading a post in Sandra Juto's blog about old books and unexpected findings. In fact it was a nice surprise when I first opened this book and I found this photograph between the pages:

00_095

Who was she? And most important: could she sing in Romanian?

Rumunské Lidové Písně. Statní Nakladatelství krásné litertury, hudby a umění. Praha, 1959.

Publicité
Commentaires
S
oh wow, i'm so glad you posted this! the cover of the book is wonderfully beautiful. happy weekend!
*akka design*
Publicité
Publicité