Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
*akka design*
Archives
28 avril 2009

Experiments with silk paper

I've been doing some experiments with silk papermaking at home. The basic materials are cocoon strippings (gummy silk), baking parchment, water and an iron.

00_038


The process is pretty simple:

  • Place a piece of parchment on your ironing board and spread the gummy silk thinkly on it.
  • Spray with water (a plant spray bottle or similar will do)
  • Place a second piece of parchment on top.
  • Press with an iron until dry
  • Allow to cool and remove the silk paper from between the baking parchment.
Once I tried the basic paper I started adding other fibers into it: some coloured roving, some silk fibers, threads... It works well if you spread some gummy silk on top of them too. Then I tried to stick pieces of cotton lace using a fusible web in between and the result was quite good. I'm looking forward to keep experimenting with it. These are some pictures of samples I made:

00_036
00_032_copy

About the materials: I bought the cocoon strippings from Oliver Twists during the Knitting and Stitching Show in Dublin (Oct 08). As far as I know they do not sell online, but mail order is available.

(pictures by me)

Publicité
Commentaires
*akka design*
Publicité
Publicité