Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
*akka design*
Archives
22 avril 2009

The making of Akka's logo

Hello and welcome to Akka, my new blog. I’m still working on the design so consider everything as a work in progress.
My name is Laura, 28, Spanish, living in Dublin since 2006. Before I lived in Milan for three years and in Prague for a short period.
I like all sorts of things related to art, craft and design. The blog will be mainly about this.
Apart from the blog another idea is cooking in my mind: opening an online shop for my handmade objects. But it’s too early to talk about that.

I spent a few days brainstorming about a suitable name for the blog that could also work as a brand name. The oddest names came out but somehow my favourite were the ones beginning with K and A. So playing around with these two letters the name AKKA was formed and I was happy: simple, short, symmetrical.
Then it was the time to visual brainstorming for a logo/banner, mainly conducted in bed just before falling asleep and resumed in the morning before getting up. These are some of the initial ideas.
00_012 00_011

Having a symmetrical word with four letters makes it easy for geometrical arrangements and playing with reflections. As for the colour, I tried hard but orange just would not go away from my head. So let there be orange.
These are some of the attempts in Illustrator with different fonts. How easy to get the Ikea feel :-)
akkaproof akkaproof2

Finally I decided to go for my own font so I worked further on one of the first sketches. What came out is the logo you see on the banner. I plan to add something else to it, but for the moment that's it.

Publicité
Commentaires
*akka design*
Publicité
Publicité